Fast forward to the nineteenth century, when Archbishop John Whitgift’s legacy continued with the development of Whitgift Middle School. By the early twentieth century, it was decided to build two schools, which were to be known as Whitgift School (located at Haling Park) and Whitgift Middle School, based in Croydon’s North End.
William Ingrams was Whitgift Middle School’s first Headmaster, who ensured that the School’s fee level remained accessible to all sectors of society. Oliver Berthoud changed the School’s name in 1954 to Trinity School of John Whitgift.
Trinity moved to the site of the Shirley Park Hotel in 1965, where it remains to this day. This heralded a new and exciting time in the School’s history, flourishing throughout the remaining part of the twentieth century and becoming the successful, dynamic and inspiring school we know today.
We have a unique history in Croydon thanks to the legacy of our Founder, Archbishop John Whitgift. In 1596 he laid the first two foundation stones of the Hospital of The Holy Trinity. In the same year, just yards down the road, he opened a school. Together, these two buildings would help him realise his founding vision to educate and care for the people of Croydon. This was his legacy. Today, more than 400 years on, he’d take great pride in the charitable work the John Whitgift Foundation carries out in his name.
Our work covers three core areas:
As one of the largest bursary providers in the country, we grant thousands of young people access to an outstanding education at our Foundation Schools, Old Palace of John Whitgift, Trinity and Whitgift, that many could not otherwise afford.
Through our care homes and services, we give older people a true sense of community, comfort and joy in later life.
We offer free advice, information and a support network for Croydon’s carers – providing a welcome break from the isolation and exhaustion they can endure.