Trinity Musician of The Year stage one results

Congratulations to all our advanced musicians who took part in the first stage of the annual Trinity Musician of the Year competition this term. There were some outstanding performances delivered across the different categories and the students should be proud of the exceptional standards produced. 

This term there have been five competitions: Woodwind, Brass, Strings, Piano and Singing. The winners of these now progress to next term’s Recital Class, in which they have to present a twenty-minute programme with piano accompaniment. They will be joined by a small number of wild card entries who are selected during the last week of term.   

The adjudicator of the Recital Class will then select three finalists who will compete for the title Trinity Musician of the Year in the summer term’s concerto competition.  

Congratulations to the following winners of this term’s competitions:  


  • 1st  Braden Dekas – saxophone  
  • 2nd  Sam Fradin – oboe  
  • 3rd  Daniel Ekundayo – flute  


  • 1st Freddie Jemison – trumpet  
  • 2nd Rohan Lall – trombone  
  • 3rd Ben Abraham – trombone  


  • 1st  Dominic Holland – guitar  
  • 2nd  Oliver Michael – violin  
  • 3rd  Jenson Wong – cello  
  • Highly Commended: Alexander Chan – viola, Ethan Thorne – violin and Lucian Joshi – violin  


  • 1st  Zain Lam  
  • 2nd  Ed Warner  
  • 3rd  Thushan Peiris  
  • Highly Commended: Ben Abraham and Lucas Wan 

Singing (winners pictured left) 

  • 1st  Anish Shah 
  • 2nd  David Fitzpatrick 
  • 3rd  Freddie Jemison  

We look forward to the next stage of the competition. 

Related news

Scroll right to see more stories